More Details Of Belle and Sebastian Write About Love
Added on 02nd October 2010

The release of Belle and Sebastian Write About Love is now fast approaching so to avoid any confusion as information leaked out the band felt it was best to confirm the details of the release themselves.

The lead track, ‘Write About Love’, is available to stream on the Belle and Sebastian website here. Along with the rest of the album, it was recorded in Los Angeles earlier this year and produced by Tony Hoffer. It also features a guest vocal by Carey Mulligan. For those in the USA, the song is available on iTunes now, elsewhere it will be released after the album on October 25th.

The album itself will be released on October 11th in the UK and most other territories worldwide except for the USA and Canada where it will be available from October 12th.

As an introduction to the new songs on the album the band have created Belle and Sebastian TV, a series of televisual broadcasts. The first episode, described as ‘a half-hour mix of music, chat and revealing (and not so revealing) insights filmed in Glasgow over the last few weeks’ is available to watch here. Presented by Dougie Anderson and produced by Forest of Black, it features performances of two of the songs from the album, ‘I Want The World To Stop’ and ‘I Didn’t See It Coming’. The film also features a selection the photographs and videos submitted as part of the Write About Love competition.

Belle and Sebastian Write About Love is the band’s third album for Rough Trade and was recorded in April and May at Sound Factory Studio B. The majority of the songs were written by Stuart including one (‘Sunday’s Pretty Icons’) which was co-written with Mick; Sarah wrote and takes lead vocal on ‘I Didn’t See It Coming’ and ‘I Can See Your Future’; Stevie wrote and sings I’m Not Living In The Real World. The are also some guests. As well as the aforementioned Carey Mulligan, Norah Jones duets with Stuart on ‘Little Lou, Ugly Jack, Prophet John’ and some orchestration is added by members of LA’s The Section Quartet.

The album will be available on CD, gatefold vinyl and digitally. The full track listing is:
I Didn’t See It Coming
Come On Sister
Calculating Bimbo
I Want The World To Stop
Little Lou, Ugly Jack, Prophet John
Write About Love
I’m Not Living In The Real World
Ghost of Rockschool
Read The Blessed Pages
I Can See Your Future
Sunday’s Pretty Icons

In addition, two bonus tracks, Last Trip and Suicide Girl, will be available as a 7 inch with the vinyl edition in most countries, and with all editions from selected retailers in the USA. A further song, Blue Eyes of A Millionaire, will be a bonus track in selected digital outlets.

It’s twenty-five years since The Boy With The Arab Strap was released on 7th September 1998, and to celebrate this musical milestone Jeepster and B&S have worked together to produce a one-off limited version of the album. It will be … [cont…]

We are excited to announce that Belle and Sebastian’s album ‘If You’re Feeling Sinister’ has been included in the 2020 Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums Of All Time. Check it out here The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time – … [cont…]

Originally released on 18th November 1996, and considered by critics to be Belle and Sebastian’s seminal album, ‘If You’re Feeling Sinister’ is now celebrating its 25th Anniversary. Recorded in Glasgow at CaVa Studios in August 1996 over just 10 days, … [cont…]

Twenty-one years after the original release of ‘It’s A Cool Cool Christmas’ in November 2000 which was only available to buy on CD for a limited 3 month period at the time, the album is finally available to stream, download … [cont…]

‘What to Look For in Summer’ arrives on December the 11th. [cont…]

Confirmed details of our special Love Record Stores Day limited edition. [cont…]

Belle and Sebastian’s ‘Tigermilk’ is one of the ‘Sounds of Scotland’ that feature in the National Album Day exhibition. [cont…]

Belle and Sebastian’s soundtrack album for Simon Bird’s film ‘Days Of The Bagnold Summer‘ is now available. [cont…]